Skip to content

A River of Stones

January 31, 2011

Peat Stream, Burley Moor

For the past month I’ve been participating in a project curated by Fiona Robyn and Kaspa called A River of Stones. As Fiona explains, “a small stone is a polished moment of paying attention.” A River of Stones asks people to write a small stone each day during January 2011. The project appealed to me as I thought it meshed quite well with the micropoetry writing style that I’ve developed on Twitter, which tends to be initiated by a small observation from the world around me. It also concides with my embarking on a Blipfoto journal, which is similarly based around small observations. The sensory prompts for my observations tend to be predominantly visual or aural.

I’ve been tweeting and blipping my small stones since the beginning of January. This entry is just a convenient way of putting them all in one place, and seeing them as a whole.  Reflecting on the outcome, I’m not sure that I’ve adjusted my writing or observational style sufficiently to the AROS brief, but I do see a distinction between these as a group and some of my other poems where I more explicitly add some symbolism to the description.  I’ve focused on the aspect of paying attention, rather than looking for things that are necessarily of beauty.  The entries reflect my oscillation between the urban and the wild in my daily life – something enacted literally in my commute from the edge of the moor to the heart of the city.

01/01/11  –  Crows and Gulls

crows and gulls

 circling the moor

 changing places

same as always

 always different

 

02/01/01  –  Four Boots

ice

brittle like glass

stamped on

by four

little boots

 

03/01/11  –  Cold Air

cold air

 fills the void

 left by the cat

 as I let him

out

 

04/01/11  –  Foraging

flock

of long-tailed tits

 foraging

 at the station

half-light silhouettes

 

05/01/11   –  Iceberg 

lettuce

 stored

 next to the icebox

 reverted

 to iceberg

 

06/01/11  –  Bradford Pagoda

church spire

scaffolded

layered planks

 and steel

 chinese pagoda

 

07/01/11 – Snow Gorse

snow falling softly

 impaled by gorse javelins

a golden flower

 

08/01/11 – Meltwater Pool

clouds

caught

in a meltwater pool

grass grows through

freely

 

09/01/11  –  Spiked Turf

spiked turf

cheesegrater pattern

rough fairway 

 

10/01/11  –  Black Ice

as my feet

sailed past my nose

I noticed

black ice

everywhere

 

11/01/11  –  Half Moon

half moon

white sail

deep blue

ocean

of sky

 

12/01/11  –  Struggling to Notice

struggling

through tiredness

to notice something

my laptop and fridge

harmonise

 

13/01/11  –  Winter Midges

fine rain

dancing

with the sunshine

a cloud

of midges

 

14/01/11  –  Syncopated

rhythmic sounds

of the city

at night

stars flicker

syncopated

 

15/01/11  –  Gulls

black eyed gulls

regaining

 summer plumage

 

16/01/11  – Boiler

boiler flares

 pipes knock

hot water

 

17/01/11  –  Cutting Edge

cutting edge

honed

slice the sky

in two

steel water light

 

18/01/11  –  Lunar Corona

translucent cloud

diffracting lunar light

rainbow rings

encircling

golden egg

 

19/01/11  – Contrail Comet

contrail

lit by a full moon

sliding

across the sky

like a comet

 

20/01/11  –  Ash Keys

cold night wind

ash keys

clink softly

deep inside

moonlight shadows

 

21/01/11  –  Cat Purring

cat purring

trilling voice

of a thousand crickets

 

22/01/11  –  Rest in Pieces

past lives

cracked

carved stone

gathering moss

rest in pieces

 

23/01/11  –  Hiss of Tyres

serpentine wind

insinuates

hiss of tyres

on wet roads

into my ears

 

24/01/11  –  Brush Strokes

cirrus

 brushstrokes

 on a blue canvas

 

25/01/11  –  Wet Stone

circle of wet stone

a mirror

to the sky

rain clouds

frowning

 

26/01/11  –  Walking at Night

walking at night

headlamps race up

from behind

my shadow

runs past

 

27/01/11  –  Shadow Tree II

shadow tree

truncated

arms aloft

dancing

with the sun

 

28/01/11  –  Walking at Night

walking at night

headlamps race up

from behind

my shadow

runs past

 

29/01/11  –  Bright Winter Day

bright winter day

 on the moor

 rich colours

 grass trees sky

 swaying together

 

30/01/11  –  Boots

on frozen ground

my boots

drumming

 

31/01/11  –  Frozen Vomit

monday morning street

 a pool of frozen vomit

 pigeons break their fast

  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

