Skip to content

The Light and the Dark

March 31, 2011

My office window overlooks our university peace garden, which contains a sculpture/fountain in the design of the taijtu (yin yang) symbol. 

Yesterday I watched two crows hop into the fountain (see picture above), which set off a chain of thought about the ripples of this extra input of ‘dark’  (yin) into the balance.

in the peace garden ~ two crows ~ step into ~ taijtu fountain ~ ripples

I’ve found myself playing with this theme in poems written on my bus journeys home over the past couple of days, so I thought I’d collate them here.

bright sun and strong wind ~ so much energy about ~ shadow trees ripple

regal head ~ carved ~ in stone ~ casts ~ a deep shadow

bus traveling north ~ face half warmed by western sun ~ east is my shadow

where the sun ~ meets my shadow ~ I am

 

Leave a comment